Beardsley, Simpson and Collamore named to Hall of Fame

Two veteran radio broadcasters will join Vermont’s first female television news director in this year’s VAB Hall of Fame class.

Radio Vermont’s Tom Beardsley, Catamount Radio’s Brian Collamore and WCAX-TV’s Judy Simpson will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame at the annual Hall of Fame Banquet December 2 at the Hilton Burlington.

Distinguished Service Awards will be presented to Lynn Beaudoin of Vermont Broadcast Associates, Mark Esbjerg of Sison Broadcasting and Steve Pelkey of Hall Communications.

WTSA AM & FM in Brattleboro is the winner of this year’s Alan Noyes Community Service Award for their annual “Project Feed the Thousands” campaign. The award is named in honor of the VAB’s longtime Executive Director.

This year’s Snyder-Teffner Award will be presented to Greg Towne, engineer for Mission Broadcasting station WVNY-TV.

tom beardsley with micA native of Watertown, New York, Tom Beardsley, a.k.a. “Beards,” began his radio career in 1969 at WIRD-AM in Lake Placid. He also worked at WIKE-AM in Newport, WHWB-AM in Rutland and for WPTZ-TV. He worked for WDEV and its sister stations for a combined 30 years. He also worked for Rep. Peter Smith, the New England Dairy Council and was part owner of a small radio group in Maine for four years.

judy simpsonJudy Simpson began her Vermont television news career at WVNY in 1985 and became the first female TV news director in state history. She joined WCAX in 1997 and began a ten-year stint as anchor of “Channel 3 News This Morning” in 2000. She “retired” earlier this year but continues to host “Across the Fence” for the station. She received the VAB’s Distinguished Service Award in 2014.

brian collamore 1Brian Collamore started his radio career in 1968 at WRMC and WFAD while at Middlebury College. After a stint at WHWB-AM in Rutland, he joined WSYB in 1974 and has been on the air and in sales since then. He has been a longtime co-host of “The Proctor Gas Morning Show” and has been an ice hockey official for nearly 40 years. He received the VAB’s Distinguished Service Award in 2013 and is now in his second term as a State Senator for Rutland County.

lynn beaudoin 1Lynn Beaudoin started her sales career at WSTJ-AM in 1981. She joined Bruce James’ Vermont Broadcast Associates when he bought WSTJ and what is now WKXH-FM in 1990. She is known for “super-serving” her clients and her community and for being a goodwill ambassador for radio broadcasting.


mark esbjerg 1

Mark Esbjerg started his broadcast career at WTSL-AM in Hanover in 1978. After a stint at WQUT in Tri-Cities, Tennessee, he joined WXXX-FM when it went on the air in 1984 and moved to its sister station, WVMT-AM, in 1986. After many years as morning co-host with Hall of Famer Ernie Farrar, he currently serves as Operations Manager.

Steve PelkeySteve Pelkey is Operations Manager for the Hall Communications stations, including WKOL-FM, where he hosts the midday show. He began his career in 1979 working at a variety of stations in the Rome and Utica, New York markets. He later worked as Program Director for WDEV-AM in Waterbury and for WATD-FM in Marshfield, Massachusetts, as well as a stint with WBOS-FM in Boston. After working for WVMT and WFAD, he joined Hall in 1993.

Greg Towne Full Res HeadshotGreg Towne has been with WVNY-TV (Local 22) since 2001, and serves as Mission Broadasting’s Director of Engineering. Before joining the station, Greg ran his own electronics shop in his hometown of Milton and also managed the local Radio Shack. The award for “excellence behind the scenes” is named in honor of longtime engineers Dennis Snyder and the late Ted Teffner.

The awards will be presented at the annual VAB Hall of Fame Awards Banquet on Saturday, December 2 at the Hilton Burlington. Tickets are only $30 each and includes cocktails and dinner.

You may register for the event now by clicking here.