Three to be Inducted into Vermont Broadcasters “Hall of Fame”

(Burlington, VT) – A trio of outstanding broadcasters will headline the Vermont Association of Broadcaster’s (VAB) “Hall of Fame” Awards Banquet, December 1st at the Hilton-Burlington.

The late Jim Condon will be honored for his ten-year tenure as the Executive Director of the VAB. Jim will also be recognized for his long career in broadcasting and his service to Vermont as a member of the State Legislature from Chittenden County. Known for his booming baritone voice and quick wit, Jim is well remembered for his talent work on Q99 and WKDR. Jim was only the second Executive Director in the history of the VAB.

Terry Jaye of Catamount Radio Group station WJJR in Rutland will join the Hall of Fame for his personal longevity in radio and the countless efforts he has made to support and improve his community. He has also nurtured many young radio broadcasters with his teaching work at Castleton University. He has dedicated his radio career to the people of southwestern Vermont.

Also joining the Hall of Fame is Jeff Shapiro, owner of Great Eastern Radio. Since his 1983 graduation from Dartmouth, Jeff has created one of the largest regional radio groups in New England – with stations from the Deerfield Valley, up the Connecticut Valley, through Central Vermont and into the Champlain Valley. For over 35 years in broadcasting, Jeff continues to display the passion and commitment of a true industry leader.

The Awards Night will also feature recognition of other broadcasters from around Vermont:

The Snyder-Teffner Award is presented periodically to a broadcaster who works behind the scenes in radio and television. Mike Sequin was the engineering “rock” of stations such as WVMT and 95-Triple-X in Burlington for decades – and more recently his 13 years at VPR.

The award is named after Dennis Snyder, who retired after serving the VAB for over 40 years and the late Ted Teffner, a former VAB President and WCAX-TV engineer who helped pioneer the transition to digital television in Vermont.

Two broadcasters will be honored with the VAB Distinguished Service Award:

Glenn Dudley recently retired from VT PBS and WEZF where he had a decades-long career in broadcast engineering. Adept in technical fields such as RF, video, TV and HD TV, he was just as likely seen fixing a tire!

Charlie Papillo of WVMT is being recognized for his 20+ years co-hosting “Charlie and Ernie in the Morning” but also for his tireless efforts hosting fund-raising events and promoting public awareness for many important organizations.

The Al Noyes Community Service Award is presented annually to a station that exemplifies outstanding efforts serving the public good. WOKO-FM of Hall Communications in Burlington will receive this honor in appreciation for their efforts on behalf of the “Three Day Stampede Towards the Cure for Cystic Fibrosis”. Since their first involvement in 1989, WOKO has raised over $2-million for the cause. This award is named after Al Noyes, the first Executive Director of the VAB.

And this year, the VAB honors an individual most associated with his illustrious newspaper journalism career and reporting for the Burlington Free Press. Known as the “Dean of the Vermont Press Corps,” Mike Donoghue will receive the “Friend of Broadcasting Award” for his untiring efforts to protect the first amendment and secure freedom of information.

The “Hall of Fame” Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, December 1, 2018 at Hilton-Burlington (on Battery Street). To register visit click here.

For more information and photos, write to