VAB Hall of Fame & Award Nomination Window Is Open

It’s time to recognize outstanding Vermont broadcasters with the annual VAB Awards! In addition to inducting a few members into the VAB Hall of Fame, we will also acknowledge excellence from this past year with awards for Broadcaster of the Year, Alan Noyes Community Service, the Snyder-Teffner Award for excellence behind the scenes and the relatively new Rising Star Award! Now it’s time for you to let the VAB know who is deserving of these prestigious awards! Descriptions of each award are below and nominations must be received no later than Tuesday, October 26, 2021 at 11:59PM. Awards will be given out during the VAB’s 26th Anniversary Hall of Fame Awards banquet Saturday, December 4, 2021 at the Hilton Hotel-Burlington.  Event details coming soon!


Hall of Fame logoVermont Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to broadcasting and their community within the state of Vermont. The Hall of Fame is open to individuals in all departments of the broadcast industry; ownership, management, news, engineering, operations, sales, creative services, on-air talent, production, promotion and administration.  To be considered as a VAB Hall of Fame inductee, nominees must:

  • Have made significant and lasting contributions to the broadcast industry over the course of their professional career.
  • Exemplify integrity, innovation and leadership and have been a positive influence on their Vermont broadcasting peers.
  • Demonstrate a commitment to the broadcast industry through earned achievements/recognition, longevity and/or service to the VT Association of Broadcasters.
  • Show dedication as a citizen making positive contributions to society within the local Vermont communities they serve.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form is closed.

Nominations must be received by 11:59PM Tuesday, October 26, 2021. Hall of Fame nominees only will be held on file and considered again for future nomination.


Broadcaster of the Year award logoThis award honors a television or radio broadcaster in any department, or station as a whole, that has made a significant contribution to Vermont’s broadcast community over the past 2 years (Oct ’19-Sept ’21) . Candidates for this award must demonstrate:

  • Extraordinary performance during a situation over the past two years (Oct ’19- Sept ’21) where the individual or station went above and beyond the call of duty to uplift their station(s) and/or Vermont’s broadcast community and/or the broadcast industry as a whole.
  • This could include but is not limited to; performance during an emergency or natural disaster, going above and beyond the call of duty to make sure viewers/listeners are informed about something serious, or it could be providing help to a fellow broadcaster in need.

Broadcaster of the Year Award Nomination Form is closed.

Nominations must be received by 11:59PM Tuesday, October 26, 2021.


Snyder Teffner Award logoNamed in honor of radio engineer Dennis Snyder and television engineer Ted Teffner, the Snyder-Teffner Award honors an individual who has demonstrated excellence “behind the scenes.” This includes but is not limited to anyone working in operations, office administration, sales, creative services, production, promotions, HR, traffic and reception as well as any technical fields including engineering, I.T. / digital, editors, and camera, master control and board operators.  Candidates for this award must demonstrate that they are:

  • Extraordinary stand-out in their field
  • A team player who is willing to go the extra mile for the good of the organization
  • Committed to doing their best work every day
  • Seeking new opportunities and open to innovation
  • Respected, trusted and seen as a resource by their peers
  • Willing to mentor and train people new to the profession
  • Giving dignity to their profession

Snyder-Teffner Award Nomination Form is closed.

Nominations must be received by 11:59PM Tuesday, October 26, 2021.


Community Service award logoOpen to a television or radio station or individual broadcaster that has completed a project within the last 2 years (October ’19-Sept ’21) that contributes to society and makes the community a better place to live, work and thrive. Named in honor of the late Alan Noyes, longtime broadcaster and VAB Executive Director, candidates for this award must submit:

  • Which community or communities were impacted?
  • When the project occurred?
  • What the project was?
  • Who was involved in the project?
  • Why the project was created?
  • How their project had a positive impact on the community?

Alan Noyes Community Service Award Nomination Form is closed.

Nominations must be received by 11:59PM Tuesday, October 26, 2021.


Rising Star award logoThis award will go to someone under the age of 30 who is new to broadcasting but shows an extraordinary amount of passion and potential and will likely have a long and successful career in the industry! Open to any person working in any department of radio or television for between approximately 2-5 years. Nominees for this award should be:

  • Demonstrating tremendous growth and development within a relatively short period of time.
  • Engaged and eager to learn.
  • Passionate about their field and have a desire to excel in it and make it a long-term career.
  • Enthusiastic about the broadcast industry and excited about innovations that will shape its future.

Rising Star Award Nomination Form is closed.

Nominations must be received by 11:59PM Tuesday, October 26, 2021.