VAB Scholarship Winners from NVU-Lyndon and Castleton!

Mentoring and supporting the next generation of broadcasters to enter Vermont’s workforce after graduation is high on the VAB’s priority list.

Through the years, thanks to member participation in the NCSA program, we’ve been able to establish fully endowed scholarships available to students in the broadcast programs at Champlain College, Castleton University, Northern Vermont University-Lyndon and New England School of Communication at Husson University.  More recently, the VAB established a scholarship through VSAC specifically designed to help direct family members of broadcasters no matter what program they are studying or what school they are attending.

In all, this year the VAB Scholarships provided over $26,000 to help 19 students become future broadcasters!

October 22nd and 24th, VAB Executive Director Wendy Mays had the opportunity to meet some of this year’s VAB Scholarship winners from Castleton University and Northern Vermont University at Lyndon.

Ian Shalek Castleton scholarship winner cropFor the past two years, Ian Shalek from Vergennes, VT has been the recipient of the VAB Scholarship from Castleton University. Ian says without the VAB Scholarship, he would not have been able to attend college.

The Broadcast and Digital Journalism faculty at Northern Vermont University – Lyndon meet each spring to discuss who should be VAB scholarship recipients.  Decisions are based on:

  • Students who show great promise in the JOU/ATM program and whom the faculty feel will go onto a successful career in the industry.
  • Student’s energy/enthusiasm for the broadcast industry
  • Whether they are a Vermonter or from New England is also considered
  • Current recipients are re-considered, so a student could receive the scholarship multiple years in a row.

Six of the 15 NVU-Lyndon VAB scholarship winner’s this year are pictured above including (L-R standing; Lillie Farrell, Vanessa Symonick, Rachel Valentine, Haley Fiaschietti, (L-R sitting) Alexandra Huff and Camryn Kruger. Other winners not pictured include Peter Kvietkauskas, Bobby Saba, Nick Anastasi, Chris Bouzakis, Lauren Cornell, Devon Distefano, Robert Koenig, Radowlaw Przygodzki and Nathan Rubin.

Champlain College had five VAB Scholarship recipients this year; Kyra Fillmore, Luke Marcheski, Isabel Schonemen, Connor Decker and Holly Studwell.

This year, there were four recipients of the VAB Scholarship at New England School of Communication at Husson University. Abigail Cushing, Cameron Lavertu, Connor Petros and Cole Hurlbert.

The recipient of the VSAC scholarship this year is Clare Swanson who is attending Sarah Lawrence College.

For more information on the VAB Scholarships, click here